Colorado Water Resources Development & Power Authority


Logan Tower Bldg
1580 Logan Street, Suite 620
Denver, CO 80203-1942
(303) 830-1550
(303) 832-8205 [Fax]


The Colorado Water Resources Development and Power Authority (CWRDPA or Authority) was created by the Colorado State General Assembly in 1981. The Authority has evolved into a major financing resource for water and wastewater utilities throughout Colorado. In the 1980’s, the Authority was involved with many water projects and basin-wide studies, the satellite stream monitoring system, the financing of the Stagecoach Reservoir Project and negotiations involving the Animas-La Plata Project. Starting in 1989, the Authority began focusing on financing activities with the first bond issue for the Water Pollution Control Revolving Fund. In 1990 the Authority completed its first “pooled” financing for the Small Water Resources Projects Program. In 1997, the Authority completed its first financing for the Drinking Water Revolving Fund. With statutory changes adopted in 2003, the Authority may fund loans of up to $500 million per borrower per project. In 2008 a Bill was enacted giving the Authority the ability to issue bonds for certain "Forest Health Projects," and in 2013 the Bills sunset provision was extended to 2023. In 2013 the Authroity's "Forest Health Projects" Bill was amended to add a "a project to harves woody vegetation for, or use woody vegetation in, the production of energy, fuels, forest products, or other applications (biomass)."


The Colorado Water Resources and Power Development Authority provides low-cost financing to governmental agencies in Colorado primarily for water and wastewater infrastructure development. It is the policy of the CWRPDA to assist local governments with financing water and wastewater infrastructure in a manner that is flexible and cost-effective yet does not jeopardize the Authority's principal or security.


The CWRDPA is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors appointed to four-year terms by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The Board members are chosen geographically from the eight major drainages basins around the State and from the City and County of Denver. The current Board includes:

Greg Higil (Chairman)--Rio Grande Drainage Basin
Greg Fisher (Vice Chairman)--City and County of Denver
Frank Kugel (Secretary/Treasurer)--Gunnison-Uncompahgre Drainage Basin
Don Carlson--South Platte Drainage Basin
Robert Edward Wolff--San Miguel-Dolores-San Juan Drainage Basin
R. Bruce Smith--Main Colorado Drainage Basin
H. Webster Jones--Yampa-White Drainage Basin
Roy Ellsworth Heald--Arkansas Drainage Basin
Ty Wattenburg--North Platte Drainage Basin

[Tentative] Meeting Dates for 2015:

January 28, 2015
March 6, 2015
April 24, 2015
June 5, 2015
August 20, 2015
October 2, 2015
December 4, 2015

Application Deadline            Loan Type                 Authority Tentative Board Meeting Date

January 15                               Direct Loan                 March Board Meeting
                                                   Leveraged Loan
                                                   (Spring Bond Issue)
February 15                             Direct Loan                 April Board Meeting
April 15                                     Direct Loan                 June Board Meeting
June 15                                    Direct Loan                 August Board Meeting
                                                   Leveraged Loan
                                                   (Fall Bond Issue)
August 15                                 Direct Loan                 October Board Meeting
October 15                               Direct Loan                 December Board Meeting
November 15                          Direct Loan                 January Board Meeting


Colorado Water Resources and Power Development Authority

Colorado Water Quality Control Division

Colorado Department of Local Affairs

Colorado Rural Development Council

Colorado Water Conservation Board

Colorado Wastewater Utility Council